London Calling

Remember that pivotal scene in the Ugly Betty finale when Betty leaves her life in New York for a new job in London? And she’s walking past all those London landmarks and shopping and calling taxi cabs with Generation X playing in the background? (And she reunites with Daniel Meade, the fictional love of my life?) And I could have died that life seemed so perfect?

Well, next year that’ll be me (kind of). Oh my god.

I got the news today: my application to intern abroad in London for the Spring 2015 semester has been accepted. I’ve been dreaming about it for so long, and now I know for sure it’s finally happening! Three months from now, I’ll be working at publication in a world that is brand new to me, just like Betty. This really feels like it could be the start of my career, my future.

I can see it now: I’ll take London by the reigns. I’ll be a confident, bright and fashionable young journalist. I’ll call taxi cabs and take the tube to work. I’ll have lunches overlooking the River Thames. I’ll wear funky coats. There will probably be Brit punk music playing in the background.

Daniel Meade won’t be there. But that part I’ll live with.

 

3 responses to “London Calling

  1. Pingback: October | nicola dall'asen·

  2. Pingback: How On Earth Did I Pull That One Off? | nicola dall'asen·

  3. Pingback: 2014 Might’ve Been My Best Year Yet | nicola dall'asen·

Leave a comment