2014 Might’ve Been My Best Year Yet

The craziest, most stressful and probably the best year of my life is almost over. It’s hard to believe, so I’m going to indulge in some serious nostalgia right now. Mostly for my own pleasure, the moments of 2014 I hope I never forget:

When I kicked the year off right by seeing Panic! At The Disco live (for the third time).

http://instagram.com/p/jf7CXXnfd-/?modal=true

It was only the second day of the semester. The second I got out of class I drove like a bat outta hell across Missouri, then waited outside in less than 20-degree weather for five or so hours. So worth it.

When I got my first taste of journalism school.

https://twitter.com/nicoladallasen/status/433322492157894656

It was really hard to me back then but now I look back at it and laugh like it was years ago. Oh, I was so young and naive…

When my older sister got into law school.

http://instagram.com/p/lLFMwwnfUn/?modal=true

I barely get to see her now that she’s up to her neck in exams, but I’m still super proud. She’s killing the game.

When I got invited on stage by All Time Low.

http://instagram.com/p/mgP2t4HfYD/?modal=true

This is by far the craziest thing that’s ever happened to me. My friends and I were far back in the center of the pit, when Alex Gaskarth asked the crowd mid-show if anyone can do the infamous Carlton dance from the Fresh Prince. I, knowing I can rock the hell out of that dance — and not thinking they would notice since I was so far back — raised my hand shamelessly. Then in what I can confidently say was the most surreal moment of my life, Alex scans the crowd and stops right. On. Me. He points right at me, “You. You can do it, I can tell. Get her up here.”

Before I know it, my friends are pushing me and the crowd has parted completely and then I’m getting hoisted up on stage while the band finds someone for me to — oh god — battle. We have a Carlton dance-off, which I win, and I still can’t decide if that’s awesome or embarrassing. My prize: I sing Time Bomb on stage with them. I still kind of don’t believe this happened.

When a group of dorm acquaintances became my best friends.

http://instagram.com/p/oma1qwHfYa/?modal=true

I’m just really glad I got to share this crazy year with you ladies. Wouldn’t have had it any other way. Some of the best bits off the top of my head:

  • When Nicki Minaj dropped “Anaconda” and we tried (and failed) to recreate the music video.
  • When we went to the Hartsburg Pumpkin Festival and shamelessly ate all the food.
  • When we won the Kanye West round of trivia night because the team that actually won already had prizes.
When I got accepted into my emphasis area in the journalism school.

https://twitter.com/nicoladallasen/status/474986141746073600

After a long appeals process, this was huge for me. I spent a long time being unsure of myself and thinking I had to pack up and go home because I thought I wasn’t going to make it. But the moment I got that email was the moment I really got my shit together.

When I returned to my homeland for three weeks.

http://instagram.com/p/pZ02c3HfWl/?modal=true

For the first time in ten years, I got to go back to Australia for a bit in the summer. The two weeks we spent in Brisbane, my hometown, were quiet and a little boring, to be honest, but I still got to spend time with my grandma, see all my childhood hangouts, and eat like there was no tomorrow.

http://instagram.com/p/pVhmQ5HfWT/?modal=true

Then we went to Gold Coast for a few days and that’s where things got interesting. I was reunited with like, 20 crazy relatives who hadn’t seen me since I was about 5 years old, and I learned that back in the day I was kind of a little bit psychotic.

My sister and I spent one night at a club there, after which we found a guy passed out face down in the cold sand. We spent hours trying to get him an ambulance, finally sent him off, then returned to our hotel balcony at 4 in the morning, where we were then puked on by someone a floor or two above us. Good times.

Sydney was beautiful. I never went there as a child so it wasn’t as special to me, but I still got to see everything I wanted to see. I got to discover a little bit of myself there.

When I turned 20.

As soon as I typed that sentence I had a “holy shit I’m 20 years old” moment. Still hasn’t quite registered I guess. Anyway, this birthday was particularly great. My family sent me off to school feeling all warm and fuzzy (and with the best cake ever.)

http://instagram.com/p/rqNyMeHfYW/?modal=true

Then on my actual birthday, Abby and I saw One Direction in St. Louis. It was another one of those shows where we had to sit through class, then rush to the car so we could make the drive before the show started. And while I absolutely hated being surrounded by screaming 13-year-old girls, I had a fantastic time. Even though we ended up stuck in traffic for hours before we even got out of the parking garage afterwards.

When I finally got the hang of news reporting.

The first month at the Missourian was rough, to say the least. But then, out of nowhere it seems, I kind of knew what I was doing. And people noticed. After a month of research and reporting, I published my first long feature, the one I’m still the most proud of.

http://instagram.com/p/uaqVlVnfSG/?modal=true

That same week, I wrote a quick brief about a partial solar eclipse, which unexpectedly earned me quite a bit of praise for the way I wrote it. That week gave me enough confidence to last me the rest of the semester.

When my application to intern in London was accepted.

I’m leaving in less than 10 days and I still can’t believe I’m doing this. Y’all are never going to hear the end of it so I won’t go on.

When the fall semester finally ended.

It was the longest, most stressful semester I’ve ever faced in my life. But fuck if I didn’t conquer the hell out of it. I came out almost unscathed with killer grades, a solid portfolio, and an internship.

____________________

I’m so proud of this year. I love my life more than I ever have before. I’m surrounded by people I love and who love me, I’m accomplishing great things and I’m just really confident in myself. If I keep doing what I’m doing I can only hope things continue to go this way next year.

So then… Bring it, 2015.

Leave a comment